The Fayette County Democratic Committee will present this award annually to someone who exemplifies the ideals of the Democratic Party and the qualities that we have long admired in Ernie Broadwell. This award will be given to an individual determined to be an outstanding leader who has made an exceptional contribution to the community. The awardee shall show qualities of Ernie’s to include integrity, courage, and selfless service to the community, passion, commitment to citizen participation, coalition building and ability to mentor others.

Nominations will be accepted each year after the Selection Committee is announced. Nominations are open to all members (in good standing) of the Fayette County Democratic Committee. Nominations should include a brief statement of why that individual fits the award criteria.

This award recognizes an extensive history of exemplary work for the Fayette County Democratic Committee. The nominee shall have an extensive record of accomplishments, extraordinary in nature, and a proven history of leadership. This award is reserved for those who are the best of all time or the best of their generation. In addition to a record of exceptional accomplishment, a stellar record of personal integrity, and a history of doing what was best for the city, county state or nation, are required, and must be in the highest tradition of Democratic values and public service. This award is subject to the awards committee decision, whether the nominees’ are qualified.

This is an annual award based on a nominee meeting the criteria as outlined. Should there be no qualified individual (based upon the selection criteria) then the award will be postponed until the following year.

Past Winners

2014, Tish Naghise

2015, Kevin Madden

2016, Virgil Fludd

2017, Alice and John E. Jones

2018, Derryll Anderson